Showing posts with label Editing. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Editing. Show all posts

Friday, February 17, 2012

Create a Divine Angel Montage in Photoshop

Materials Needed:

Step 1: Create a new document

First of all open a new document in Photoshop (Dimensions: 1019×1219 px).
Step 1

Step 2: Apply Vegetation

Now import the first image “Vegetation1″ that we’ll use to create the background. Resize it and than place it to the top of the page.

Step 3: Reduce Saturation

Go to Image > Adjustments > Hue/Saturation and reduce the yellow saturation and grow up a little bit the yellow lightness.
Step 3

Step 4: Complete the background

Fill the background with black color and erase slowly the bottom part of the image you added so that it will blend in with the black.
Step 4

Step 5: Add the main character

Import the second image “Female” resize it and fit it in the centre of the image like below. Change the name of the layer to angel.

Step 6: Selecting the model

Using the Pen Tool (P) you need to trace the female model and erase the background behind her.
Step 6

Step 7: Correcting the colors

Go again to Image > Adjustments > Hue/Saturation and reduce the yellow saturation. Than select the Burn Tool (O) and try to make the females dress a bit darker, till you reach a result like the picture below.

Step 8: Add more detail to the background

Copy and paste the next image we used for the ground Vegetation2 and place it below the angel layer.

Step 9

Erase the trees from the top of the image, make sure you use a soft brush for this and that you will only have the ground visible and than change the Hue/Saturation and the Color Balance from Image > Adjustments.

Step 10: Create the angel

Import the image, which contains the wings. Select the contour with the Pen Tool (P) and get rid of the black part of the image. Than use the Burn Tool (O) on the pointed area.

Step 11: Add some color to the wings

Go to Image > Adjustments > Color Balance and use the settings below. Than you can change the contrast from Image > Adjustments > Brightness/Contrast.

Step 12: Building the star

Create a circle with the Ellipse Tool (U) (Shape Layers). Than go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur, set the radius around 4%.

Step 13

Now you should smudge the circle from outside to inside, which will allow the finger be seen. To make it glow, right-click on the layer with the white sphere and go to blending options and use the options from the Outer Glow like below.

Step 14

The light should go over the face. So you must brush and smudge a white color over the face and the hair then set the layer to Overlay.

Step 15: Creating the star rays

Draw some lines like below and then select with the Elliptical Marquee Tool (M) a circle.

Step 16

Go to Filter > Blur > Radial Blur set to around 15.

Step 17: Add mist

Create a new layer and fill it with black. Then go to Filter > Render > Clouds. For the colors use these codes: #bfb499 and #000000.

Step 18

Set the mist layer to Screen and Opacity 75%.

Step 19

Now create a new layer and move it below the clouds layer and add some shadow. Brush with black and then smudge a little bit to cover the legs and the dress.

Step 20

In this step you must create some more mist at the female’s feet. Make a selection with the Elliptical Marquee Tool (M) and go to Filter > Render > Clouds. Use the same colors like before.

Step 21: Light behind angel

To create the light behind the angel create a new layer below the angel layer and brush it with #dbbe79. Set the layer to screen in the end.

Step 22: Rays of light

Create a new layer then create some straight lines using the Line Tool (U) set to 2px and color #dbbe79.

Step 23

Wile still on the rays layer go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur and than Filter > Blur > Motion Blur effect till you get the same result like below.

Step 24: Add final light

This is the final step. Select all the layers (Ctrl + A) and copy merged (Shift + Ctrl + C) and paste (Ctrl + P). Then go to Filter > Render > Lens Flare. Using the Erase Tool (E) set to Opacity 70%, you need to slowly erase the lower part of the flare.

Final Result


Download the PSD

Monday, June 27, 2011

Design Spring

How to Create Funky 3D Springs in Illustrator


Final Image Preview

Step 1

Create a new document. With the Ellipse Tool (L), make a circle 25px by 25px. Fill it with red and no Stroke.

Step 2

Select the circle and go to Effect > 3D > Revolve. Enter the values as shown in the figure below. A Revolve angle of 180 degree is to make a semi-ring. An offset of 100pt from the right edge adds a distance between the revolve axis and the path on which the object will revolve.

Step 3

Now we’ll duplicate and Send to Back. Alt-drag the ring to make a duplicate copy as shown. Use Command + Shift + Left Bracket to send it back.

Step 4

With the duplicate copy still selected, open the Appearance palette (Shift + F6). Double-click the 3D Revolve effect, as shown below.

Step 5

In the 3D Revolve dialog box, change the z-axis value to 10 and offset to Left Edge. Keep rest of the values as it is. The two basic elements for the spring are now created.

Step 6

Now we’ll match the faces. Hold the duplicate copy and place it exactly behind the right face of the original one. Use the keyboard arrow keys to do so. See in the image below how this is done.
Tip: Go to Edit > Preferences > General (Command + K). In the dialog box, reduce the Keyboard increment to 0.05px or even less. This is helpful in achieving more accuracy when you are shifting the objects with the keyboard arrow keys.

Step 7

Select the rings and Alt-drag to duplicate. Send “ring 4″ to back (Command + Shift + Left Bracket key).

Step 8

Now select “ring3″ and “ring 4,” then match the left face of “ring 4″ exactly behind the left face of “ring1.”
Tip: Use Shift + Arrow key for larger increments and simply push the Arrow key for normal increments. As we know, there is no way to join 3D faces in illustrator; the overall quality of the final result will depend upon your hand’s precision. So, try your best to match the faces.

Step 9

Follow Steps 7 and 8 to extend the spring. This can be done either by duplicating one ring at a time, or duplicating the entire set of rings. Let’s do it with an entire set. Select everything and Alt-drag to duplicate. Send “ring 6″ to back (Command + Shift + Left Bracket).

Step 10

Now we have two sets and we have to connect them. Key logic: Match the bottom-most face of “set 2″ with top-most face of “set 1″.

Step 11

Now we want a stretch in the spring. For this, duplicate “ring 8″ by Alt-dragging, and connect it with “ring 7.” Assume this as “ring 10,” as we will make “ring 9″ in the next step.



Step 12

Duplicate “ring 7″ by Alt-dragging and open its 3D properties from the Appearance Palette (Shift + F6). Change the z-axis rotation to -4, as shown in the image below.

Step 13

Connect “ring 9″ to the right face of “ring 10,” as shown below.

Step 14

Duplicate “ring 10″ and change its z-axis rotation to 14. Do this by clicking on the 3D Revolve properties from the Appearance palette. Next, connect it with the left face of “ring 9,” as shown below.

Step 15

Following the same procedure, duplicate “ring 9,” change its z-axis value to -8 and connect its right face to “ring 12.”

Step 16

Similarly, duplicate “ring 12,” change its z-axis to 18, and connect its left face to “ring 11.”

Step 17

Now duplicate “ring 11″ and connect its right face to “ring 14,” without changing anything.

Step 18

Select “rings 13″ and “ring 14″ together and duplicate them. Send “ring 16″ to back (Command + Shift + Left Bracket). Now join the resulting rings at the left face of “ring 13.”

Step 19

Now duplicate “ring 16″ by Alt-dragging and connect it to the left face of “ring 15.”

Step 20

Carefully select the rings 1, 3, 4, and 6, then duplicate them. You may need to lock some rings (Command + 2) to select the desired ones.

Step 21

The final step is to connect the resultant set of Step 20 to the right face of “ring 18.” The final result after successful placement shall be like this.

Conclusion and Scope

With this basic technique of spring formation, we can obtain creative results by simply experimenting with the rotation values in the 3D Revolve option. The only drawback with this technique is that we can not join the 3D faces. This affects the overall quality of the desired result. However, at 800px sizes, these errors are not legible and we can easily use the results in icon designing. You can try this technique in creating shock-absorbers and Spiral CFL (Bulbs).
The image below shows some experiments done with this procedure. You can find the rotation values for each result in the source file. Thanks everybody for your patience and valuable time. Hope you enjoyed this tutorial!